PayPal - switching from the plugin to the core integration

If you have been using the PayPal plugin up to now, you can find out here how to switch to the core integration and how the core integration differs from the plugin.

We recommend following the order described here: first configure the settings for the core PayPal integration, then deactivate the plugin. This ensures that the PayPal payment method is not missing from your shop during the brief period whilst the settings are being configured.

1. Payment method settings

First, configure the settings for the plugin-free mode.

  1. Go to Setup » Orders » Payment » PayPal.

  2. Enter your PayPal email address. You log in using the same login details as for the plugin.

  3. Click on the line for the account you have added to make further settings.

  4. Here, too, everything is initially just as you are already familiar with from the PayPal plugin settings. You will notice the first difference when you select a combination of client and plugin set in the configurations: for the core integration, select No plugin set from the drop-down list instead of a plugin set.

  5. Save your settings.

  6. Now click on the line for your newly created configuration.
    → The menu for the payment method settings opens.

  7. At first glance, it looks different from the familiar settings menu, but broadly speaking it contains the same elements.

Differences:
  • Pay Later is no longer listed under PayPal, but as a standalone payment method. The available delivery countries are inherited from PayPal. If the delivery countries were different, the payment methods PayPal and Pay Later could not be used.

  • It is no longer possible to configure an express button for the credit/debit card payment method, as the core integration no longer opens a pop-up window for credit/debit card payments.

2. Deactivating the plugin

It is important that you then deactivate the plugin.

Deactivating the plugin:

  1. Go to Plugins » Plugin set overview.

  2. Toggle off the PayPal plugin.

If you do not deactivate the plugin and simply complete the remaining setup steps for the core integration, the payment processes will still be handled via the plugin.
To make use of core integration, it is therefore important to deactivate the plugin.
Conversely, this also means that you can reactivate the plugin at any time should you encounter any difficulties with the core integration.